What’s a Werewolf?

August 29, 2008 at 1:22 am (General)

On August 8, Teresa D’Amario posted the list I’ve reproduced below. And as soon as I saw it, I started wondering how her points are reflected in my books.

10. His favorite song is CHANGES.

9. You’re missing two fresh steaks which were in the fridge just five minutes ago, and hubby is licking his chops.

8. You hear strange howling every time there’s a full moon.

7. Meet the folks day happens at the local zoo.

6. Every time the radio plays the song Werewolves in London, your sweetie starts howling and snarling.

5. You find heart worm prescriptions all over the house.

4. You are busy cleaning hair from your shower drain every single day.

3. The silver necklace your mom gave you burns his skin.

2. The Hickie on your neck from the other day required 10 stitches to fix.

1. He appears naked and sweaty too many times to be called a streaker!

Back before I wrote KILLING MOON, I had an idea of what a werewolf was. And it’s pretty far from that list. Of course, some of Terry’s points are tongue in cheek. Like, the crack about cleaning hair from the shower drain. My guys only step into the shower when they’re standing on two human legs–so the reader gets a good look at a hunky naked guy.

But I couldn’t help thinking about how I measure up to the list.

My Marshall guys could live on raw steak. But they don’t respond to the full moon–despite the “Moon” repetition that Berkley put into my titles. And they just shrug when they hear that old myth about silver jewelry.

The great thing about creating a family of werewolves was that I could come up with any rules I wanted for their lives.

So my guys are all tough loners–each one the head of his own pack–because I couldn’t stand the idea of writing a werewolf who was less than an alpha male. Only their wives and kids are in those packs, and when they start fighting with their teenage sons, the kids leave to form their own packs.

Actually, they’re loners until they meet their lifemate. Then they’re drawn to that woman with a supernatural force that they can’t fight. And that makes for some howling good sex.

And what about the way you get to be a werewolf? I know that in some books, all it takes is a strategic bite. For my guys, it’s genetic–caused by an extra chromosome. That chromosome leads to some pretty bad problems. It’s sex-linked, so girl babies all died–until Megan Marshall, Ross’s physician wife, figured out how to solve the problem.

Ross and Megan have changed the picture for the Marshalls. He had a craving for family connections, so he’s gotten his brothers and his cousins working together. Some of them have gone along kicking and screaming. But in the end, the strong Marshall women have played a major role in making it happen.

I’ve got a new book coming out in April, ETERNAL MOON, with another woman who can stand up to a mate who’s a werewolf. She’s Renata, the reincarnation of an ancient goddess. Down through the years she’s been reborn over and over–and each time she and her lover have been killed by a demon. This time she’s got a chance to make it come out differently, because her lover is werewolf Jacob Marshall. And together they may win the eternal battle–if they trust each other enough.

So, what are the essential elements of being a werewolf for you? Do you want all those traditional touchstones–like silver as Kryptonite? Or is a shifter alpha guy enough for you?

Rebecca

5 Comments

  1. Beth C. said,

    Werewolves have to shift. Really I think that’s the only requirement I have. I don’t care if they do it with the moon. Although I tend make my young werewolves change with the moon and then when they are adults and in control of their powers, they can do it anytime.

    I think every supernatural being needs a defect. Whether it’s sunlight for a vamp, losing their skin for a selkie or silver for werewolves….they need something to make them vulnerable. (I guess just to make them more human. Nobody is perfect)

    I like both the Alpha and Beta werewolves. Sometimes the Alphas can be too Alpha. The best friend who helps him run the pack can be just as sexy. 🙂

  2. Beth C. said,

    Werewolves have to shift. Really I think that’s the only requirement I have. I don’t care if they do it with the moon. Although I tend make my young werewolves change with the moon and then when they are adults and in control of their powers, they can do it anytime.

    I think every supernatural being needs a defect. Whether it’s sunlight for a vamp, losing their skin for a selkie or silver for werewolves….they need something to make them vulnerable. (I guess just to make them more human. Nobody is perfect)

    I like both the Alpha and Beta werewolves. Sometimes the Alphas can be too Alpha. The best friend who helps him run the pack can be just as sexy. 🙂

  3. Beth C. said,

    Werewolves have to shift. Really I think that’s the only requirement I have. I don’t care if they do it with the moon. Although I tend make my young werewolves change with the moon and then when they are adults and in control of their powers, they can do it anytime.

    I think every supernatural being needs a defect. Whether it’s sunlight for a vamp, losing their skin for a selkie or silver for werewolves….they need something to make them vulnerable. (I guess just to make them more human. Nobody is perfect)

    I like both the Alpha and Beta werewolves. Sometimes the Alphas can be too Alpha. The best friend who helps him run the pack can be just as sexy. 🙂

  4. Beth C. said,

    Werewolves have to shift. Really I think that’s the only requirement I have. I don’t care if they do it with the moon. Although I tend make my young werewolves change with the moon and then when they are adults and in control of their powers, they can do it anytime.

    I think every supernatural being needs a defect. Whether it’s sunlight for a vamp, losing their skin for a selkie or silver for werewolves….they need something to make them vulnerable. (I guess just to make them more human. Nobody is perfect)

    I like both the Alpha and Beta werewolves. Sometimes the Alphas can be too Alpha. The best friend who helps him run the pack can be just as sexy. 🙂

  5. Savanna Kougar said,

    As long as werewolves shift and have wolf qualities, I think an author should be able to create whatever kind werwolf she/he wants, and that the readers enjoy.
    It’s a big ole’ universe out there. With lots of life forms.

Leave a Reply

