How old is too long?

August 25, 2008 at 8:46 am (General)

Hey!  It’s my birthday today!  And that got me thinking about…getting older.  Sigh…

Have you ever wanted to be immortal?  To walk through centuries without aging?  Most of the paranormal heroes and heroines we write and read about are just that.  Or if not immortal, they have extended lifetimes.

For the werewolf story I’m currently working on, I decided my wolves would not be immortal, but live about an average of 300 years.  That’s a good healthy number.  Enough time to live a full life, yet not overdo it, you know?

My vampires, on the other hand, are immortal.  They live for a looooong freakin’ time.  I’m writing one that’s over a thousand years old.  Though, they are immortal, they can still be killed by a nice thick stake and severing their heads.  But if you sever their head first, and don’t pay attention?  They might just grab their head, stick it back on, and came after you.  (Note: always stake the vamp first, pin him down good, then go for the head.)

But seriously now, would you want to fall in love with someone who’s going to live forever?  

In my very first vampire romance, DARK RAPTURE (rereleased this September), at the end of the story, I originally had the vampire hero asking the heroine if she would marry him.  She said no.  My editor freaked!  She called me up and stated bluntly, that I needed an HEA (Happily Ever After), and saying ‘no’ was not it.  I argued that it wasn’t going to be an HEA if she married the dude.  I mean, maybe a few centuries of marriage is fine, but five, six hundred years?  Come on!  Anyone would begin to get seriously frustrated or just plain bored with their mate after so long.  Heck, I’ve been married twenty years and there are days it feels like two hundred!  Love just doesn’t work that way.  Unless they’ve an open marriage, to me, I don’t believe it can work for immortals once they start counting triple digits.  

So I changed the ending, but I didn’t let her say ‘yes’.  I made it work for the editor, though.  You’ll just have to read it to see what I did.  ;-)

So what about you?  Can you buy into the idea of immortals marrying and being happy forever?  Or do you prefer your paranormals to live shorter lives?  Have you ever thought about it?  And when’s the last time a major character in a romance celebrated a birthday?  I’ve never seen it!  

Michele

ps – Just so you know, there are some days my twenty years of marriage feels like only twenty days.  :-)

5 Comments

  1. Colleen said,

    😀 HAPPY HAPPY B-DAY MICHELE!!!😀
    Love hmmm…now that I think of it, I do not believe I have read a paranormal romance that ended in marriage!?! Wow, this is something to think about!

  2. danette said,

    Happy Birthday Michele!

    I don’t think I’ve read a character having a birthday. As for having an age limit,I’m ok with characters living forever.

    Hugs, Danette

  3. michelehauf said,

    I think very few paranormals do get married. Though, that said, and above post aside, I did let a couple of my characters get married. I figure, I know they’ll last. Or in the case of one couple, I think they’ll probably drift apart after a few centuries, but then drift back into each others arms.

  4. Beth C. said,

    Happy Birthday Michele

    Umm, no I don’t want to live forever. While that might work for Highlander…not for me. I’m thinking 200 years is a good amount. Although I may be biased as I am currently creating a world where all the inhabitants live to be about 200 years.

  5. Savanna Kougar said,

    BELATED HAPPY BIRTHDAY!
    I’m not sure, or I just don’t remember a birthday celebration in one I’ve read. However, my hero in one wip is celebrating his birthday and has the heroine come read the Tarot cards at his party.
    Interesting about the whole marriage thing in paranormals. I don’t have an actual ceremony in my novels yet. However, the heros in three of them definitely intend marriage, and while not necessarily immortal, they are all very long lived.
    Personally, I think it is possible to have happily ever after in an immortal pairing…but that’s just dreamy romantic me.

Leave a Reply

