ShapeShifter Romance Welcomes Lauren Dane

August 21, 2008 at 5:00 am (Contests, General, Guest Bloggers) (, , , , )

Every time I turn around someone asks me “have you read Lauren Dane? she writes great shapeshifting books”. Then there are the ones who read my books then say “have you read Lauren Dane? You remind me of her.” Well dang, I can’t fight words like that, now can I? So, when it came time to find myself a great guestblogger for today, who did I visit? Lauren Dane, of course.

By way of introduction, I’m Lauren Dane and I’ve been writing professionally since 2004. I write for Samhain, Berkley, Harlequin Spice and Black Lace. My first book, Triad, came out from Ellora’s Cave in May of 2005 and I’ve been happily writing away ever since. I write across several genres and heat levels from my contemporary small town romance series the Chase Brothers to futuristic erotic romance such as Undercover and Relentless.

One of my favorite tropes/storylines to write about are werewolves. Mmmm. My most recent release with Samhain, Cascadia Wolves: Fated, continues the story of the Warden family, the wolves who run the Cascadia Pack and the National Pack.

With this series I’ve been able to combine two of my greatest loves – stories involving large, loving families and paranormal worldbuilding.

Luckily, this has turned out to be one of my most popular series and I often get asked how I came to write this Pack.

Gosh, what seems like forever ago but was really only 2005, I’d just started writing with Ellora’s Cave and they put out a call for an anthology. I can’t even remember the title but the theme was men with dangerous jobs.

So I noodled around and came up with an idea for a werewolf cop of sorts, an Enforcer. I wrote the proposal and subbed it but they didn’t choose it. My editor wrote me and said she really loved the idea and she thought I should write it as a full length novel.

So it sat a while, because I had a dozen other things to do and by the time I’d gotten back to it, Lex had softened a bit and the original heroine had changed into Nina Reyes and some key elements had shifted. Pretty much, without my editor’s urging, I’m not sure I would have written it at all!

But I did and Cascadia Wolves: Enforcer was my first book in the Cascadia Wolves series. In the beginning, I’d really only considered it to be a standalone book but when I started Tri Mates, the story got really big and Warren Pellini was back so at that point I sketched out the idea for the werewolf mafia story arc to be told over a few more books.

I think for me, this series taught me a lot about letting the story have its way with you. Sometimes you have to rein yourself in as an author, keep your cast down to a manageable number, keep the story within the lines or it’s just too big and confusing. But other times, if you let yourself go a bit, you find things you hadn’t imagined at first.

Earlier this year the four book story arc with Pellini and the werewolf mafia ended with Standoff. I saved him for last for a few reasons, firstly the story arc needed to end with him risking his life to save his people and I felt like it would be more meaningful if he did it with his mate at his side. Also, he’s the patriarch of the series so there was an important element of saving the best for last.

So the story arc was over but there were other characters poking at me, werewolves can do that you know. And I got letters about them all the time so I decided to tell Megan’s story with Fated. It was fun to pick up a year and a half later and to start a new story without all the baggage of large multi-book storyline.

What I wanted to do was take the idea of the fated mate and turn it upside down. What if your mate was a werewolf who was raised outside a Pack? What if he hated what he was, feared it even? What if you’re happy living as a human and your mate is one of the highest ranking werewolves there is? How do you reconcile that? Because love and chemistry isn’t enough.

The book was a challenge but I’m thrilled with how it turned out and I hope readers are as well!

Thanks for having me today! If you’d like to read an excerpt or two from my books, you can head on over to my website (www.laurendane.com) to check them out.

Not sure what WordPress did to my post but it appears to have posted an older, temporary save of this post – so now adding back all the wonderful covers Lauren has, as well as letting you guys know, Lauren will be giving away one ebook – winner’s choice of Ascension or Enforcer. Just leave a comment- winner will be selected next Thursday!

24 Comments

  1. Michele Hauf said,

    Welcome, Lauren! The books sound awesome. I’ve just become a werewolf fan myself. Love those hairy guys.
    How do your wolves shift shapes? Are they man shaped, and then do they turn into wolves? Or do they go kind of beastly?

    Michele

  2. Lauren Dane said,

    Hi Michelle!

    My werewolves shift from human to wolf form. Normally they’re in human form, or they wear their human selves essentially and they’re able to shift at will any time after the first shifting if they’re bitten (that one is tied to the moon).

    They’re large wolves (like about 4 1/2 – 5 feet high). They can’t speak to humans but they can understand what humans are saying.

  3. Teresa D'Amario said,

    So Lauren, they look like a full wolf though – but just larger? I like them that way.🙂

    So what made you chose Wolves to write about? Anything in particular?

  4. Colleen said,

    Hi Lauren, I have not had the pleasure of reading one of your novels yet! I love blogs like this one that introduce authors to me that I have yet to read. Thanks for sharing… I look forward to getting my hands on some of your work!🙂

  5. Lauren Dane said,

    Teresa – yes, they look like a giant wolf. I like em that way too, LOL. I love wolves, I like that they run in packs, I like that they mate for life. They’re beautiful and strong and very intelligent while still being very fierce and anamalistic – all really wonderful stuff to write when you’re writing a romance! I love alpha males and you don’t get much more protective than a male werewolf. At the same time, the females have to be strong to keep up with them and keep them from running them over too.

  6. Lauren Dane said,

    Colleen – thanks very much! I love that too. I’m always on the look out for new authors to try. I hope you enjoy my stuff.

  7. Mad said,

    Hey Lauren! Don’t count me in for the ebooks, I’ve read both already…just wanted to pop in and say hi.🙂 I love your books.

  8. Ciara said,

    Ooo how exciting! I wonder how I missed this – two of my favorite things – the pacific northwest and WEREWOLVES. Yum! I’m attracted to werewolves for the same reasons – pack means family and they mate for life. And of course the Pacific Northwest is Teh Awesome. I wouldn’t live anywhere else.😉 Thanks!

  9. Lauren Dane said,

    Mad – thank you!!

  10. Lauren Dane said,

    Ciara – it is the awesome and I love living here! Both my werewolf series are set up here.

  11. Cathy M said,

    Don’t need to enter me, I am already a big fan of your werwwolf stories, and have read these two. Just wanted to say hi and encourage everyone to give this series a try.

  12. thelaurendane said,

    Thanks for stopping over to say hello, Cathy!

  13. Lauren Dane said,

    that was me by the way, I was over at one of my group blogs, LOL

  14. tina brunelle said,

    love the excerpts!!

  15. Pamk said,

    Hi Lauren, Congrats on your new release. Please don’t enter me in this contest. I have both of those and they rock. Love both series of wolfies of yours. So if someone here has tried one of Lauren’s books run go try one they are fantastic.

  16. Maggie Johnson said,

    Hi Lauren,Just wanted to let you know that I have all of your Cascadia Wolves.I love to read about familys.Fated was awesome.

  17. Lauren Dane said,

    Tina – thank you!

    Pam – thank you so much, Pam!!

    Maggie – I’m thrilled you enjoyed Fated!

  18. Susan B said,

    Hi Lauren,

    I read ‘Fated’ Tuesday PM & finished it early Wednesday AM. It was awesome. Even worth having to wait an extra week for. Did I see a #7 ‘Always’ at the end of ‘Fated’ planned? I hope so I was worried this series was done. If it is do you have a tentative idea of when?

    This whole series has been awesome. I started with ‘Tri Mates’ then went back & bought all the others right away. A wonderful, hot, awesome series!

    Thank you,
    Susan B.

  19. Cathy said,

    Oooo… A new author for me to read, love it. Your books sound great. I visited your site and can’t wait to read both werewolf series.

  20. Lauren Dane said,

    Susan- unfortunately that’s a typo! Always is not a continuation of the series, it’s a standalone contemporary romance. BUT – I do want go tell Jack’s story and it’ll be a menage. it’s just a matter of timing (I’ve got deadlines on contracted books into the spring). Oh and I’ve promised all my Cherchez Pack fans that I’d write Skye’s story! But there will be more wolves, I promise. And thanks for all the support and words of praise!

    Cathy – thanks very much!

  21. Caffey said,

    Hi Lauren!! I don’t think I ever saw the cover of Ascension that closely and beautifully! Is it too the cover for the print (Yes I am so looking forward to these all in print. They deserve to be on my keepers shelf! I do have your books, but I wanted to stop by to thank you for all the joy it is reading them. You are one wonderful author and lady to know!

  22. Savanna Kougar said,

    Hi Lauren, wonderful blog. I can’t resist those wolves.

  23. Lauren Dane said,

    Cathie – thank you,that’s very sweet! I love that cover and I’d be quite thrilled to see Ascension in print but I have no idea whatsoever if and when it will be out.

    Savanna – thanks!

  24. sidhevicious said,

    Hi Lauren!
    Wow, what a lot of wonderful recommendations from everyone. Now I’m really intrigued to read some of your work.🙂 I love me some sexy alpha males and weres are always great to read about.

Leave a Reply

