KISS OF FURY

August 5, 2008 at 6:22 am (Deborah Cooke) (, )

Today is the on sale date for Donovan’s book, KISS OF FURY! Woo HOOO! FURY is book #2 in my Dragonfire trilogy, and it has one hot and fabulous cover.

Tanzey Cutter at FreshFiction said:

“This second book in Deborah Cooke’s phenomenal Dragonfire series expertly sets the stage for the next thrilling episode, KISS OF FATE, coming in February 2009. As with the first book, KISS OF FIRE, I became immersed in the lives of these incomparable dragon-heroes, who will do whatever it takes to save this precious earth and its most valuable asset – humans. I sincerely hope this unique paranormal series continues beyond the original three novels.”

I think she liked the book.🙂 Her whole review is on my blog, Alive & Knitting.

Natasha at Romance Junkies gave the book 5 blue ribbons, their highest ranking! You can read her whole review here – it’s too fun to excerpt.

Jennifer Ray at Wild On Books loved it too – check out her review here.

You could say that I’m a bit excited! Sooooooo (are you ready?)

LET’S HAVE A CONTEST!

Yup, just comment on this post to have a chance of winning a signed copy of KISS OF FURY.

Donovan is worth it.🙂

Check in at my blog, Alive & Knitting, for more chances to win a book this week…

Deborah

23 Comments

  1. Natasha said,

    I loved Kiss of Fire, and I can’t wait to read this one!!
    Natasha Armstrong

  2. Darla said,

    Congrats on your new release Deborah! I’m looking forward to reading it…SOON!

  3. Pamk said,

    Kiss of fire Rocked and I am so looking forward to reading Donolans story. Good luck with your release.

  4. Teresa W. said,

    I’ve been hearing alot about this series! Your a new author for me and I’m always looking for new reads. Glad to see you hear today!

  5. Colleen said,

    Congrats Deborah! Nice reviews!!!😀

  6. Crystal B. said,

    Congratulations Deborah on your new release and on your fabulous reviews. I want to read this book.🙂

  7. Ali said,

    Deborah, Congrats on the release!! I love the cover *drool*

  8. Barb P said,

    I would absolutely luvvvvvvv a copy of Kiss of Fury! Thanks so much for having the contest!

  9. Cathy M said,

    Congrats on the great reviews. I can’t wait to read this book.

  10. Lilly K said,

    Happy release day, Deborah. Loved Kiss of Fire, have been impatiently waiting for Kiss of Fury

  11. Greta said,

    Congrats on the great reviews. I would love to win a copy of Kiss of Fury. I’ve been waiting on it since I heard about. I loved Kiss of Fire.

  12. *lizzie starr said,

    of course Donovan is worth it.🙂
    Hope you had an excellent release day!

  13. sidhevicious said,

    Congratulations on the new release and wonderful reviews! I’m looking forward to reading Kiss Of Fury.🙂 Please enter me to win as I would love a signed copy.

  14. Lora said,

    I would love a chance to win this book! Please enter me in the drawing.

  15. Rose Ann said,

    I’m glad it’s finally here. It felt like forever.

  16. Jennifer A. Ray said,

    I absolutely adore dragons and this book was wonderful!!! Happy Release Week!

  17. linafeo said,

    please enter me. thanks

  18. Savanna Kougar said,

    Deborah, congrats on all your great reveiws.

  19. Eva S said,

    Kiss of Fire was a wonderful book, I love sexy dragons and can’t wait to read this one! I’m happy it’s here!

  20. Haylo said,

    Ms. Cooke I’ve greatly enjoyed both of the Dragon series books and I have a question that I may have missed in the books. The dragons live for centuries, how long do their mates live?

  21. Deborah Cooke said,

    Thanks everyone!

    Haylo, the Pyr live for centuries and age very slowly until their firestorms. Their mates are human, so have normal human life expectancies, and the Pyr have similar life expectancies after they have their firestorm and breed.

    This is something that I thought was obvious – because it was obvious to me! LOL – but it comes in for further discussion in Erik’s book KISS OF FATE. I think I’ll have to revisit it again in subsequent books, as several people have asked now.

    Deborah

  22. Haylo said,

    Ahh ok, but for instance, some Pyr have firestorms and breed but don’t stay with the mates, like Donovan’s father. If he hadn’t been killed, would he have died after a normal lifespan or lived for many more years? Or what about Erik, he had a mate, a firestorm and a kid but hasn’t aged right? I’m so confused.

  23. Deborah Cooke said,

    Haylo –

    I think it would be weird if Pyr and their mates were destined to live exactly the same amount of time, even if it sounds romantic. Erik talks about this in his book, KISS OF FATE, specifically about Thierry (Quinn’s father) and his conviction that the Pyr who truly loved *chose* to die when their mates died, because life had no purpose anymore. This reminds me of human couples who have been together for decades and then pass within weeks of each other. In a way, they can’t imagine being without their partner and so they don’t. I’ll let Erik explain to you why he’s still alive after having his firestorm! So, that’s the Pyr who love.

    The Pyr who don’t love, who breed and move on like Donovan’s father, are still biologically affected by the fact that they have had a firestorm and bred. They’ve made a son so their purpose – in biological terms – has been fulfilled – that’s why so many Pyr get their first grey hair after their firestorm. (Remember, that Erik has grey hair – that’s from his firestorm.) Their aging speeds up – it is said that they can “taste their mortality”. This may make them more desperate or more villainous – leading to a violent death – or it might just make them cranky, so they die alone.

    I have a tendency to have Pyr who don’t love their mates die nasty violent deaths (!) but maybe a weakened old surly one would be fun, too.

    Does that make more sense?

    I think I’d better do a blog post on this on my blog next week…it’s one of those things that’s so clear to me, probably because I’m completely immersed in this world, but isn’t always clear to everyone else. Thanks for asking!

    d

Leave a Reply

