Kendra Leigh Castle, Call of the Highland Moon

July 31, 2008 at 1:00 am (General) (, , , , )

Please welcome my werewolf shapeshifting friend–wait a minute, make that: my author friend who writes about werewolf shapeshifters, Kendra Leigh Castle, also with Sourcebooks Casablanca! Be sure to comment to have a chance at winning one of her books!! And thank you, Kendra, for popping in to blog with us when you have a deadline to meet on Friday!!! Good luck!!!

Kendra Leigh Castle started out stealing her mother’s romance novels and finally progressed to writing her own. She brings her love of all things both spooky and steamy to her writing, and firmly believes that creatures of the night deserve happily ever afters too. When not curled up with her laptop and yet another cup of coffee, Kendra keeps busy in California with her husband, three children, and menagerie of high-maintenance pets. For news of upcoming novels, or just to drop her a note (she loves to hear from readers!), visit her online at www.kendraleighcastle.com.

Hi, everyone, and thanks to Terry for having me here to blog today! I’m Kendra Leigh Castle, and I write what you could call “werewolf-centric romance” for Sourcebooks Casablanca. My first book, Call of the Highland Moon, came out in May, and its sequel, Dark Highland Fire, hits the shelves in October. Both feature, you guessed it, werewolves with sexy broguesJ Since I’m up to my ears in shapeshifters most of the time I jumped at the chance to guest blog about them. However, after hemming and hawing over what exactly to say (being a writer, I do a lot of this in general), I decided that the best thing for me to do would be to interview a real expert on shapeshifters. “Real” as in “lives in my head and drives me nuts,” that is. So here, without further adieu, is werewolf Gabriel MacInnes, the hero of Dark Highland Fire; all six foot three of him, dark brown hair falling in his face as usual and a devilish look in his green-gold eyes.

K: Hi, Gabe.

G: Morning, sweetheart.

K: Smooth.

G: It’s a gift.

K: Uh-huh. You realize there isn’t a thing on earth that’s going to make me show you mercy, right?

G: *cringes* I watched what you put Gideon through. Do you think you could maybe go a bit easier on me?

K: Your brother is a happy man these days, Gabe. I don’t hear him complaining. And neither will you. Eventually.

G: Yeah, it’s getting to “eventually” that I’m worried about.

K: A little fear of your author is a healthy thing. So anyway, I didn’t bring you in to talk about your impending romantic doom. I thought you could talk a little bit about your experiences as a werewolf.

G: *grins* What sort of experiences?

K: See, this is what makes you deserve everything you’ve got coming. Just tell us about yourself. Start there, okay? And keep it G-rated, please.

G: Oh, you’re no fun today. All right. I’m Gabriel MacInnes, younger son of Duncan MacInnes, who is currently Alpha of the MacInnes Pack. My brother Gideon will take over for the old man one day when he gets tired, though I’m thinking it’ll be quite a while before that happens. Dad’s really enjoying himself since the Stone started acting up…he’s fancying himself quite the dragon slayer these days. ‘Course, if I were a dragon, I wouldn’t cross him.

K: And the Stone is…

G: Oh, sorry. The Stone of Destiny. Not the one on display in Edinburgh, either. This is the real one, which the Clan MacInnes hid away hundreds of years ago. All the kings of Scotland were traditionally crowned on it, but it’s a lot older than that. And it seems to have some interesting, ah, quirks, which we didn’t know about.

K: Quirks?

G: Let’s just say that the legends about the Stone are boring compared to what it actually does.

K: Fair enough. So what else? What do you do for a living?

G: A friend and I own a little pub in Tobermory called Wolf at the Door. All right, yeah, laugh at the name, but it’s appropriate. I have a flat right above it, which you’re not going to get a tour of because I can’t really remember the last time I cleaned it. But in general, you could say I spend my time in proper fashion for a second son of a great werewolf dynasty.

K: Drinking and chasing women?

G: Oh, come on now. Give me a bit more credit. I don’t ever have to do the chasing.

K: *rolls eyes* Yeah, I know. Don’t you think you should try and help the Pack a little more, though? I mean, there seems to be a tribe of otherworldly dragons who would like to get their claws on that Stone of yours. Seems like there should be something for even a second son to do.

G: Sure. I’ve been thinking about that a lot lately. But what am I supposed to do? Gideon’s the warrior hero of the family, you know, all serious and trained up to annihilate the enemy. Thank God for Carly, he’s lightened up a lot thanks to her. Me, though…I’m the entertainment committee. I wasn’t as interested in all the training, kind of went my own way. I’ve been wishing…well, I don’t know, it just seems like I should be doing more. I just don’t know what it is. Never really did, I guess. But I’m happy enough.

K: That’s convincing. I don’t think you’re all that happy, Gabe. And I can tell you’re more preoccupied than usual.

G: How’s that?

K: Your shirt’s buttoned wrong.

G: Ah, damn…

K: Don’t you like being a werewolf?

G: Oh, sure, love it. It’s very freeing, you know, being able to shift into a wolf whenever you get the urge. We don’t get a choice when the moon is full, but the rest of the time it’s up to us. Hard during the day, though. Any moon at all is always helpful. My family’s estate, Iargail, was the perfect place for a kid with supernatural inclinations to grow up, too. We’ve got miles of forest on the grounds, lots of room to run, and nobody bothers us. Most of the Pack is scattered around the UK, but we all get together at the estate and have a good time a couple of times a year. It’s great fun, which as you know is my specialty.

K: Yep, it’s one of your defining characteristics. But I think you’re about to discover a few more, if that makes you feel any better. Anyway, that’s about all the time we’ve got, but thanks for stopping in to chat, Gabriel.

G: Oh, anything for you, beautiful.

K: The sucking up is nice, but you’re still done for.

Thanks for stopping by today, everyone! Gabe and I will be around all day if anyone would like ask a question or just say hello, and I’ll be choosing one random commenter (using the time-honored method of eenie-meenie-minie-moe) to receive a copy of the first book in my Highland werewolf series, Call of the Highland Moon. The winner will be announced on Monday. And please, watch for Gabriel’s story, Dark Highland Fire, in October. He has no idea what’s about to hit him!

-Kendra

18 Comments

  1. Natasha said,

    This sounds great! I like the idea of historical paranormal. Thank you!
    Natasha

  2. *lizzie starr said,

    Ah, highland weres… do they howl with a brogue?🙂
    Thanks for sharing Gabe with us–and for adding to my TBR pile!

  3. Beth C. said,

    ooo more werewolves. Can’t wait to read something new. Ahh poor Gabriel. I hope he gets exactly what he deserves in his book. 🙂

  4. teresadamario said,

    Kendra, I loved your book, Call of the Highland Moon! I can’t wait to read Gabe’s!

  5. Colleen said,

    Wow, I loved the interview!!! Boy I am curious about this book now! Thanks Kendra and Gabriel!!!😀

  6. Savanna Kougar said,

    Kendra, luved the interview with Gabriel. Hey, Gabriel, you better be on your wolf toes, it’s about to get real hairy for you, my boy!

    What is it with authors ‘enjoying’ the torture of their heroes? So much?

  7. Kendra Leigh Castle said,

    Thanks for dropping in, everyone, and for the lovely comments! My books are contemporary paranormals, actually, but set against the backdrop of the Scottish Highlands, which is a great place for magic to happen. And it definitely does when Gabriel gets stuck protecting an otherworldly demigoddess with an attitude! Savanna, to answer your question, I think authors have a good time creating gorgeous, yet flawed, men, and then unleashing a heroine upon them who will completely rock their universe. It really is fun to knock them on their butts with love:-) And Teresa, thanks for the compliment! Having read COTHM, you know how badly Gabriel needed to be taken down, heh heh heh…

  8. Cathy said,

    I love Highlanders and shape shifters, so I’m looking forward to reading both books.

  9. Teresa Warner said,

    Enjoyed your interview today, love reading about werewolves!

  10. Lilly K said,

    Great post. I love discovering new books about werewolves, going to add this one to my to buy list.

  11. teresadamario said,

    Kendra,

    You are so right. LOL. It’s time for that lazy butt to take some responsibility. And fast!

    I was thrilled with your book, then even more thrilled to see you’re in NC. We carolinians should stick together!!!

  12. Ilona said,

    Wish Gabe was more than your creation – he sounds like my kind of guy😀

    I love highlanders and werewolves and you name is getting added to my wishlist immediately.

  13. Eva S said,

    Thanks Kendra, it was a wonderful werewolf-book! I loved it and I’ve been waiting for Gabriel’s book

  14. sidhevicious said,

    LOL, I loved the interview! Your books are definitely being added to my Wishlist.🙂 Gabriel sounds like a wonderfully fun character to read about.

  15. Kendra Leigh Castle said,

    Thanks so much for stopping in, everyone! It’s nice to meet so many other people who love a good werewolf story (and big, sexy Scotsmen, of course!).

    And the winner of a copy of Call of the Highland Moon is…Colleen! Please write me with your address at kendraleighcastle@yahoo.com, and I’ll have one sent to you ASAP:-)

    Great to meet everyone, and I hope you all enjoy Gabriel’s story when it comes out in October!

    -Kendra

  16. Colleen said,

    Wow I won, Thank you so much! I can not wait to enjoy the book!!!😀

  17. Shannon said,

    I love the idea of a highland weres, I’m going to see if I can’t find your book in the morning.

  18. vickie said,

    great book, thank you

Leave a Reply

