Waiting for Donovan…

July 15, 2008 at 6:07 am (Deborah Cooke)

This post is less about writing shape shifter romance than about writing, period.

Every writer I know has a different “favourite part” of being a writer. Let’s divide the writer job into two big halves – the writing half and the publishing half. (Of course, you can write and not publish, either by choice or by fate, but we’ll assume that we’re talking about working writers. Or paid ones.)

The first job of being a writer is writing the book itself, or the creative process. I love every part of actually writing the book – when the characters come to life and when the plot just charges along, I get pretty excited! I love generating ideas although I hate choosing between them. You could count writing proposals for publishers as part of that creative half, although I tend to lump it in on the business or publishing side of the equation – I can write any idea I have, but writing the proposal is a business decision and opens the door to the publication half of being a working writer.

Most writers I know have mixed feelings about publication. Parts of that publishing process are really fun – like signings at wholesale shows, or meeting readers, or getting a fabulous cover – while other parts are less fun. Reading contracts does not count among my favourite activities, or reading copy edits or page proofs. Many authors rank revisions pretty low on their list of fave jobs and crummy covers are universally loathed.

My favourite part of publication is getting real books. Every author gets a certain number of printed copies of each edition of his or her book for free, as part of the compensation in the contract. Those copies usually arrive just slightly ahead of the release date for the book. And when that box of complimentary copies lands on the porch, I get really excited. People get out of my way – and if they’re smart, they hand me the scissors first. Even though I’ve seen the cover art and probably had cover flats sent to me, and read the copy and read/edited the book a gazillion times, holding that first genuine copy is sooooooo exciting.

I wait for it.

Impatiently.

I hover in the foyer. I listen for a truck stopping at the curb or a delivery person’s tread on the steps. When the box comes, I rip it open and spread copies of the book all over the floor. The thrill never diminishes of seeing my book in print, with the cover all wrapped around it.

KISS OF FURY goes on sale on August 5.

That’s 3 weeks away, which means that we’ve entered prime time for me to get that box of books. This week, I’m waiting for Donovan. (Funny, but as much as I love my heroines, I never wait for them!) He has a gorgeous cover with a metallic blue sheen over the whole thing (one that doesn’t really show up in jpegs). I want a copy of that book, and I want it now. There’s a space on my bookshelf, just waiting for a shimmery blue book to slide right into it.

I’m pacing. I’m waiting. I promise not to stalk the couriers.

At least, not until next week!

Deborah

7 Comments

  1. Teresa D'Amario said,

    Don’t worry, the rest of us are waiting for Donovan too!!!!😀

  2. Natasha said,

    I am currently reading Kiss of fire and I can’t put it down. I can’t wait for the next one😀

  3. Caffey said,

    Hi Deborah! I too am waiting for KISS OF FURY to be out! As a reader, I love the feel of picking up a book in the store and too to see the covers and the feel of the engraved title and all that, that makes me put the book on my heart. I think thats why I love more to buy the books in the store than to order them online because I get to have them right in my hand!

    Awaiting Donovan too!!! Congrats on the upcoming release Deborah.

  4. rainedelight said,

    Hi Deborah,

    I am anxiously awaiting the next one and am finishing Kiss of Fire right now. It is so addicting and I love it! Definitly a keeper for me.🙂

    Congrats. on your upcoming release!

    Raine Delight

  5. Becky said,

    Hi Deborah! Just wanted to say hi!! Sympathy to you on the nail biting wait ahead!!! I feel that way anytime a new book is coming that I was waiting for, I can only imagine how much harder it must be for you as the author. But it’ll be worth it when you have it in your hands and on your bookshelf🙂
    Take care
    Hugs!!
    Becky

  6. Deborah Cooke said,

    Ooooooo, he showed up today. Wow! The cover is so gorgeous in real life, with a shimmery blue foil over everything.

    Yum. ::sigh::

    Now I’ll spend the rest of the day playing with my books…

    Deborah

  7. AJ said,

    *Squee!!* What do you know? I have a space on my bookshelf too! LOL.

Leave a Reply

