Friday the 13th, truth or legend?

June 13, 2008 at 8:03 am (General, Teresa D'Amario) (, , )

By Teresa D’Amario

It’s Friday and you can’t wait for the weekend. You stop your car at a nearby coffee shop and go inside. A ladder is there, you walk around instead of under. You return to your car , careful to not step on any cracks in the sidewalk. You drive to work, extra observant of traffic. There’s a higher ratio of accidents on Friday the 13th, and you don’t want to be another statistic. You park your car and let out a huge sigh of relief. Safe. For now.

Later, In the break area, you collapse into the chair and set your drink on the table. Someone hands you a cookie. It’s their birthday and they want to share. However, in the process, you knock over the salt. Without thinking you immediately toss salt over your shoulder. Why chance ruining your weekend?

Work is over, Thank heaven. Before you know it, you’re standing in your living room, satisfied you’ve survived the Friday the 13th misery. You collapse into your couch knocking your purse to the floor. Damn. You sort through and find it, your heart dropping. The mirror inside is shattered, the shards sparkle sharply in the late afternoon sun. 7 years bad luck! Using extreme care, you remove all the shards from your purse and toss them into the trash.

You head to the bedroom and stop in the doorway, your heart’s thumping with fear. For inside stands a black cat. You can’t escape. He’s in your path now, and you know it’s all over. Friday the 13th will not be denied. A bright light flashes, energy flows through the room tingling over your flesh. The tiny hairs stand on end and your body trembles. When the light dims, you see him. He’s not a tiny black cat anymore, but a black leopard, his green eyes taking you in. Your heart is pounding so hard now you are afraid you’ll black out. Your breath is coming in gasps, yet your lungs don’t seem to be processing the oxygen inside. The chill comes over you, and the room spins.

The last sight you see before darkness settles is the pink of a tongue as the great cat licks his lips.

Friday the 13th. It’s here folks, and I’m just wondering how you’re day is going? Are you nervous? Do you go out of your way to avoid the treacherous day? Is it all in our imaginations? You be the judge.

Our next story is true and starts with a young boy. The boy was excited. Today was the day he’d find out if he made the elite little league team. The one to play for the national championship. He was a good player and was sure he would make it. Riding his bike through the city streets, he hurries toward his next game, a grin of excitement on his face. Beside him, traffic hurries past. It’s rush hour. He nears the railroad tracks at the corner, and as he has the right a way, prepares to cross. A enters the intersection. Thump, Thump. The car’s tires thump over the railroad tracks. Thump. The trailer it tows passes over, bouncing into the air. A strap breaks. The pleasure boat slams into the pavement, crashing into the boy. The bike pins him beneath the boat, and theY slide. Closer and closer they come to the gas pumps of the corner gas station. At long last momentum stops him, inches from the pump. He crawls out from under the boat, grabs his bike, and without a word (in shock) he heads home. Later, in the hospital, it’s discovered this 13 yr old boy has broken 13 bones. And the date? You guessed it. Friday the 13th.

So tell us, how is YOUR Friday the 13th going?

(For more details on Black Leopards, visit http://www.cathouse-fcc.org/blackleopard.html)

Next is a little self advertising.🙂 I thought I’d use today to introduce my new Book Trailer for Tigress by the Tail, Moon Tarot from Tease Publishing.🙂 Let me know what you think!

12 Comments

  1. *lizzie starr said,

    Although I have many personal supersitions… and as a cook I’m always tossing salt over my shoulder :)… I consider Friday the 13th a lucky day. No worries. I’m not sure exactly when I made this ‘turn around’ in feeling about the day, but it works. It’s a good day to smile;)

  2. Colleen said,

    I enjoy Friday the 13th… always look forward to it… I give my black cat extra lovin for good luck!!!😀

  3. jkholmes said,

    I own two black cats and love Friday the 13th! Thirteen is my lucky number so I don’t really think about the negative stuff.🙂

  4. AlainaLee said,

    yea along with the rest, i usually dont find it to be a bad luck day.. oddly enough i carry my bad luck with me.. have a tattoo of a black cat(panther) crossing my path.. lol
    eh.. it stormed today? that wasnt kewl.. but its stormed every day for 2 weeks.. hmm
    i find the history of how friday the thirteenth came to be unlucky interesting..

  5. Gemmma said,

    MY FRIDAY 13TH WAS AWFUL i got suspeneded from school then nerli got expelled burst intpo mah mums meetin wich waz private had the cops round 1nce and nerlii drowned wen i went owt wid mah dog :(:( sooo annoing oi never belived in this before but now i do!

  6. Breia said,

    I always enjoy Friday the 13ths. I look forward to them. I think they only bother you if you think bad things will happen. Happy Friday the 13th.

  7. Marcia said,

    Oh yeah. I forgot about that. So far, my Friday the 13th has been like any other day. In fact, maybe better than average because I actually cooked a fantastic meal for once and didn’t burn anything or over-season in the process. 😉

  8. Savanna Kougar said,

    Usually Friday the 13th has always been a good day for me. Yep, tame indeed, today. But I was writing about my black cat heroine, who is seducing and being seduced by her ‘assignment’. Oh yeah, she’s at a Halloween party filled with black cats, every Cat Woman included. So this is darn synchronistic.

  9. Becky said,

    I always had good luck on Friday the 13th. This year was uneventful but since I lost my job three weeks ago and my dad was diagnosed with Lymphoma last week, uneventful seems really lucky right now.

  10. terryspear said,

    Ran errands on Friday the 13th, picked up the tile for the laundry room, didn’t break any, and so all and all, a good day.🙂

    My grandmother had tons of superstitions, a thread on your clothes meant you were getting company, putting on your clothes inside out by accident was good luck, ears burn, someone’s talking about you, and many, many more.🙂

  11. Emily Ryan-Davis said,

    Oh my gosh, T! What a chills-inspiring true story.

    Friday the 13th for me…nothing unusual most of the time. I mostly spend my day rolling my eyes at everybody else, I’m (only slightly) embarassed to admit. I’m awful, I know.🙂

  12. Sierra Wolfe said,

    Friday the 13th has not been a good one for me in the past. I got put in the hospital on that day and then sent by helicopter to a larger hospital to have my daughter 2 months early by emergency c-section. As a nurse, I’ve seen some crazy things happen on that date and on nights of full moons also.

    My mom always has a good day when it’s Friday 13th. We tell her she’s backwards, lol. But she swears it’s her good luck day.

Leave a Reply

