Rose Marie, Guest Blogger of the Moon Series

June 12, 2008 at 1:29 am (General) (, )

Thanks, Rose Marie, for joining us. She has a group where she allows authors to share their promos also and she allows for author blogs too. So here is a little about Rose Marie:

From a very young age, Rose Marie Wolf was interested in things that weren’t quite normal, so it was no surprise when she grabbed her crayon and started scribbling out short stories about vampires, werewolves, ghosts, fairies, elves and all manner of paranormal creatures.

Her combined love of writing and the supernatural grew and, in 2002, she began writing on her first serious work, a short story about werewolves she called “Sweet Moon Dreams”. A few years later, with the help of her fiancé, she developed the story into a novel-sized manuscript.

Rose Marie lives in Indiana, with a menagerie of pets, not including her fiancé and his mother. She is currently working on her next supernatural adventure and she encourages readers and fans to join her discussion group on Yahoo! to chat about books, writing, publishing and her upcoming releases.

 

The Moon Series

 

A few people have asked me why I decided to write my paranormal books as a series and honestly, I don’t know what to tell them.

 

Because it didn’t start out that way.

 

I wasn’t planning on a series. I just wanted to write a book—one book. That was it. But, that one book kind of grew. My first manuscript for Sweet Moon Dreams was huge. There was no way a publisher was going to accept that size manuscript from an unknown author.

 

So, I took a deep breath and went through the book. I found what I thought was a logical cut-off point and the book became two.

 

Originally, Sweet Moon Dreams and Blood Moon were going to be the only books. A first book and its sequel. I sent them in to Samhain Publishing, after having about a doze rejections and they accepted it.

 

But then, I started thinking about the story and what if…

 

Hunter’s Moon was born. As I wrote the book, I told myself I was finished. Absolutely finished. I wasn’t going to I wasn’t going to do another book. This was the end of the series.

 

Then my characters, Jason and Rose, took me in directions I hadn’t planned on and left me reeling.

 

I needed another book.

 

The last book, Dark Moon Magick which is due out later this year from Red Rose Publishing, is the absolute conclusion of the series.

 

And I mean it this time!

Links:

 

www.rosemariewolf.com

groups.yahoo.com/group/rosemariewolf

rosemariewolf.blogspot.com

http://www.myspace.com/rose_marie_wolf

 

 

19 Comments

  1. terryspear said,

    Thanks for being with us, Rose Marie! Like you, I’ve always made up stories since I was little. And I loved to fall into the world of fantasy and mythologies, true stories too, so was a voracious reader. I think the two go hand in hand.🙂

  2. khyalking said,

    just read,
    thanks

  3. Rachel said,

    So, what is on the menu after you finish this series?

  4. teresadamario said,

    Rose Marie,

    Thanks for dropping by! I have to admit, this is a new series for me, so I’ll have to play catchup.🙂 I can’t wait though, looks fascinating. I’ with Rachel, though. What’s next on tap?

  5. jkholmes said,

    Rose Marie,

    I’m with Teresa and Rachel. This is a new series for me but I’d love to know what you have planned next.🙂

  6. annette said,

    hey thanks for great blog i am always reading on what makes a wirter do their thing, their moods what when and how they wirte i like how you go about it to get it your mood relaxing atomshpere sounds like it to me even if not writing. i enjoyed reading it. they sound like great books, like the rest of the girls new one for me to, put them on my tbb files. and have also joined your yahoo group so please accept me and thanks again.

  7. Marci Baun said,

    Hi Rose,

    I’m curious as to what made you decide to publish the last of the series with Wild Rose instead of Samhain. It’s none of my business, but as a publisher, when an author does this, it always makes me wonder why.🙂

    It sounds like a very interesting series. I have very little time for pleasure reading any more. (sigh)

    Marci

  8. Rose Marie Wolf said,

    Well, Red Rose picked up the last book because Samhain changed their submissions. It seems they mostly want romances and my Moon Series is not strictly that. it has alot of other elements too, like suspense, action, mystery etc. So, when it was rejected, I sent it to Red Rose. I would’ve preferred to have all the books with Samhain, but I’ll take what I can get.

    As for what’s next, I’m currently working on an idea for a new series involving werewolves again, but I’m shifting my focus to vampires as well. This series will have more romance in it, but still suspense and adventure.

    Thanks for the comments everyone!

  9. Jacqueline Seewald said,

    Your books sound great! I love romance but I prefer it mixed with mystery and paranormal elements. It’s what I like to read and write myself.

    Jacqueline Seewald
    THE INFERNO COLLECTION, Five Star/Gale

  10. Marci Baun said,

    That interesting, Rose. Usually, publishers like to keep the series together, but you just never know. I wish you great good luck with this.🙂

  11. Delores Walker said,

    I have enjoyed Rose Marie. You are a gifted author. Keep up the good work.

    Delores Walker
    “When Mariah Smiles”, Red Rose Publishing

  12. Angel said,

    Hi Rose Marie,

    Just wanted to say hey and tell you how much I enjoy your Moon Series.

    Angel

  13. Rose Marie Wolf said,

    Thanks everyone!

  14. AJ said,

    Thanks for comeing out Rose🙂 Its always facinating to find how series are born. Sometimes an idea, or someones story just isn’t finished! Good for you to listening to the muse (as if we have another choice!) and finishing it out🙂

    ((Hugs))

    AJ

  15. Savanna Kougar said,

    So glad Red Rose picked up your last book. Yeah, I read that on Samhain’s site, their change in direction toward romance. ‘Course, I wondered what that meant, other than the obvious of wanting romance central to the story.
    Thanks for sharing your writerly life and motivations. I’m always fascinated. And I love werewolfies!

  16. Skye Hoffman said,

    Once you have finished the series, what are you planning on doing? Are you going to start a new series with different characters, or are you going to end your writing career – maybe take a break and write with a different genre?

  17. Rose Marie Wolf said,

    I’m planning on writing a new series, with new characters. I don’t intend to end my writing career yet, though I may need to take a break to get things together.

  18. name said,

    Hello!,

  19. name said,

    Good day!,

Leave a Reply

