Man, Wolf, or…Beast?

June 11, 2008 at 2:01 pm (General)

Hey!  I’m late!  I apologize because usually my posts are up in the morning, but I happened to scribble the wrong date on my calendar.  Anyway!  A tough question for all of you today, and I hope you’ll give me your opinion because this is a problem I’m haggling over right now in my current WIP.

In shapeshifter romances, can a human heroine have sex with the male in his ‘shifted’ state?

Let me explain.  My current hero is a werewolf.  In were form, he is a man.  In wolf form he is like the canine-like wolves you see romping the countryside (okay, well, I’ve never seen one romping out and about, but you know).  In werewolf form, he is half-man, half-wolf.  Think a little like the werewolves in Underworld, but more man-shaped, and with a wolfish head and taloned claws.  He’s got all the right ‘man parts’ in that form, too.

Now, do you prefer a story where the heroine only interacts intimately with the hero while he’s in man shape, or can you go there, and read something where she might have sex with the werewolf?  Would you rather that scene was alluded to, but not written out in graphic detail?  Or are you offended by the very idea of it?

What have you read in other shapeshifter stories?  What’s the wildest pairing you’ve ever read?

Okay, that’s a lot of questions, but inquiring minds need to know!  :-)

Michele

9 Comments

  1. AlainaLee said,

    well i prefer them to do it in full humanoid form.. however i have read.. erm.. laurell k hamilton has her character do em in half and half form (anita blake).. most of the books ive read dont.. some have this hightened emotional state thingy.. or they can do some special bonding.. thats kewl.. erm.. hope that answers! lol

  2. Lori Devoti said,

    I like the all human, although what you’re describing might not set off my eww meter. It’s in the telling, you know?
    I have read books where the characters aren’t totally humanoid–ever. The one book I’m thinking of involved…horse parts. I wasn’t a big fan of that…

  3. michelehauf said,

    I think I probably prefer not seeing what goes on between humans and part-humans, but I don’t think it bothers me so much knowing that something IS going on behind closed doors. 🙂

  4. terryspear said,

    Hmm, well, human to human, and wolf to wolf. If they’re both werewofl, no problem. But it’s the human to werewolf when they’re in a changed state that wouldn’t appeal to me. Although, like Lori said if it’s told right, it could be done well I’m sure!🙂

  5. Becky said,

    Kate Douglas’s Chanku Wolf Tales uses this theme. It works in those stories. I’ve never been grossed out by any authors’ handling I’ ve read. But I would think it could depending on how it was handled. I think it’s always all about what fits in the story and with the characters.

  6. Rachel said,

    uh, I am thinking I don’t want to think about this. LOL definitely
    H/H (human/human).🙂

  7. Larissa Ione said,

    I don’t mind werewolf sex as long as important parts are pretty human.🙂 If two werewolves are going at it, then it doesn’t matter, but if a werewolf in werewolf form is going to be with a human, then I like there to be some important human parts! LOL

  8. Michele Hauf said,

    Lots of different opinions! It’s giving me much to think about. Thanks, ladies!

  9. Savanna Kougar said,

    Hi Michele, like has already been mentioned, I think it has to do with the story itself and how it fits, and, of course, how the scene is written
    If the werewolf is basically human in his thought processes and feelings. No, I don’t have a problem. Love is love.
    In one of my novellas my heroine is a lioness shifter. And when she is passionately excited she shifts into a half human, half lioness form, which is natural for her race. And the hero loves it! Now, the readers…?

Leave a Reply

