The Two Sides of Writing Crossover Fiction by guest blogger, Patricia Rosemoor

May 29, 2008 at 6:00 am (General, Guest Bloggers) (, , , )

As happens to many authors, I enjoy challenging myself by writing something new.

I was thrilled to be bought by Harlequin Intrigue in the first year of publication. My initial Intrigues were romantic mysteries, then suspense-thrillers. Eventually, I tried my hand at paranormal romantic suspense (my first stab at crossover fiction) and found that I loved being able to add that extra element to my stories.

Since I teach Writing Popular Fiction and Suspense-Thriller Writing in the Fiction Department of Columbia College Chicago, I had to expand my own reading to include new authors and genres. I began reading what was known then as Dark Fantasy, but which has morphed into what we now call Urban Fantasy. I found I loved the new genre. Or should I say two distinct subgenres. The stories that are primarily romances set in an urban fantasy world are found in the romance section of bookstores, while the stories that are stronger in fantasy and usually have a romantic subplot are found in the fantasy section.

I love writing both.

Wolf Moon by Patricia RosemoorWOLF MOON, winner of the Romantic Times BOOKreviews Reviewers Choice Awards for Best Intrigue of 2007, is a werewolf story. I’ve always loved the idea of werewolves. Not the old 1940s movie “man in a wolf costume” werewolf, but the BLOOD and CHOCOLATE werewolf in which people actually turn into sleek, beautiful wolves. I know a lot about wolves and am fascinated by them as I am by most animals. I’ve written a couple other novels with wolves at the center. My research included taking a weekend wolf ecology workshop in Stevens Point, Wisconsin some years ago.

When I decided I wanted to write a werewolf story, I of course wanted it to be a little different. Every author should have her own version of a popular legend, complete with rules that remain unbreakable. My biggest change in the legend is that, in addition to a werewolf villain, I created a werehuman hero. Rhys started life as a wolf. He was attacked, his family killed, by a werewolf. Jens Lindgren brought him home to take care of him, only to see the wolf turn into a teenage boy. So now, when the “wolf” killings start, Rhys worries that he might be responsible. The story is very romantic, one of destined love. As a wolf, he saved Aileen McKenna’s life when she was eleven, only to be attacked by the werewolf and almost die. Now Aileen will have to save his life in return.

I also love writing Urban Fantasy with a romance subplot.

Last VampireWhen my writing partner Marc Paoletti first asked me if I would like to write a book together (a big action-thriller), I said no. But much later, I thought about something I would like to try that I hadn’t done–a story in which each of us would be responsible for writing different characters. I would write the scenes from the points of view of the heroine and villainess and he would write the hero and villain. Since Marc wrote horror and I wrote paranormal romantic suspense, we agreed to write a thriller with a strong romance set in a dark fantasy world. The result was The Last Vampire, coming June 24 from Del Rey, and The Dark Agent, a sequel, coming in January.

I always love to hear what readers like in their stories. What kind of shapeshifter intrigues you? Are there any “rules” an author follows that you find particularly fun? Are you someone who sticks to shapeshifters or do you like all types of paranormal elements?

Whatever you like…good reading.
Patricia Rosemoor

14 Comments

  1. *lizzie starr said,

    Wow! I love the concept of a werehuman–that certainly puts a twist on the legends! I enjoy most any shifter–as long as it’s realistic for me…you know, no guys in sorta-wolf costumes.😉
    and yeah, I read everything.

  2. Cynthia Eden said,

    These two books sound great–I really enjoyed hearing about the writing breakdown for The Last Vampire. I’m often curious about the working relationship in a writing team.

    I absolutely love shapeshifters–and I’m open to pretty much anything an author wants to throw at me! 🙂

  3. Michele Hauf said,

    Welcome, Patricia! Both books sound awesome. I’ll be eager to pick up The Last Vampire and see how the two voices mesh. I’ve read other books written by two authors and always wondered if I could determine who was writing what…yet never could. Did you have to do extensive plotting beforehand so you each knew exactly what scenes you needed to write?

  4. Patricia Rosemoor said,

    There are all kinds of ways of writing with someone else. When I wrote with Linda Sweeney under various pseudonyms including Jeanne Rose for Silhouette Shadows, we plotted together, then one person wrote half the book, the other edited. Then we traded. In some teams, one person does the first draft, the other does the edit. With Marc, I wrote Leah (the heroine who uses Apotropaic Magic to turn away evil) and Rebecca (the voodoo priestess), while he wrote Scott (the special ops hero who is attacked by the vampire and therefore has vampire issues) and Andre (a vampire made of alchemy and magic — not your Bram Stoker vampire). We wanted to create a story in which the women thought like women and the men thought like men. Our styles are very compatible, and my agent says that if she didn’t know two of us wrote it, she wouldn’t be able to tell. Hopefully, that’s true. If you want to compare, go to my website (http://PatriciaRosemoor.com) to read the prologue, to Marc’s website (http://Marc Paoletti) to read Chapter 1.

  5. Terry Spear said,

    Great post, Patricia! Hmm, I like about anything paranormal, shapeshifter or psychic, ghost, or time travels!🙂

  6. Lori Devoti said,

    Very interesting post! I’m doing the more than one genre thing right now too. I find it kind of refreshing–relaxes the brain or something. Do you find the same thing? How about when you switch back? Did you have an adjustment period, or was all smooth?
    Lori

  7. AJ Hampton said,

    Hello Patricia *Waves* Thank you so much for coming out today and dazzling us with your post. I have to say, I’m really intrigued by your concept of a werehuman. I hadn’t heard of that before!

    I’m in the process of co-writing with someone so its great to hear other accounts of how the team works. I agree there are many different ways to approach it.

    I’ll definitely be checking out your site and exploring your books.

    Have you ever thought about writing a shifter book using an animal other than the wolf?

    ((Hugs))

    AJ

  8. Patricia Rosemoor said,

    >>Have you ever thought about writing a shifter book using an animal other than the wolf?<<

    Actually, something that happened in my neighborhood last month gave me another idea. I live in a densely populated area of Chicago, and a mountain lion wandered in and was shot to death by police. It’s speculated that this guy came from the Black Hills in South Dakota. They could trace his path back through sightings. So a couple of things in the way of story came to me, including one about a shapeshifter stuck in his animal form who has come a thousand miles to find the woman who can unstick him…

    Patricia

  9. Greta said,

    Patricia – I absolutely loved Wolf Moon! The were human just worked out for the story and it did seem strange or unusual. In fact I’ve read all of the McKenna Legacy and I have Flanna’s story in my TBR Pile. I love the Harlequin Intrigues, I purchase all six every month. I hope you have more McKanna’s planned.

    I’m gonna have to check out your non-Harlequin books. I’ve already added The Last Vampire to my TBP list.

  10. teresadamario said,

    Hi Patricia,

    Thanks so much for visiting with us. I can’t wait to check out your work and your rules. They sound absolutely fascinating! I’ve talked with others who work together on how they go about it. It seems everone has their own take on how it works best for them as a team.🙂

  11. AJ said,

    I can see the potential in that story Patricia! I’m so happy you came by for a visit today.

    ((Hugs))

    AJ

  12. Amysmuse » Blog Archive » Elements of Writing Fiction said,

    […] The Two Sides of Writing Crossover Fiction by guest blogger … […]

  13. Savanna Kougar said,

    Hi Patricia, I know I made it over late. However, wonderful post! I love about anything paranormal, except the horror blood-letting stuff. What a terrific idea about the human stuck in animal form, who needs his mate to unstick him.
    Also, I find it fascinating you and your writing partner are so compatible in your writing style.

  14. The Fantasy Life | Literary Escapism said,

    […] Patricia Rosemoor is over at Shape Shifter Romance writing about the two sides of writing crossover fiction. […]

Leave a Reply

