Wild Hunt Release Day!!

May 23, 2008 at 6:00 am (General) ()

That’s right in stores today –(hopefully) Wild Hunt! It’s always exciting when a book hits the streets–but much more exciting is when people start to read it and send you letters (nice letters, I’ve never received a not nice letter, but I have friends who have…). Anyway, I’m excited.🙂

In honor of Wild Hunt’s release, I thought I’d talk a bit about the different types of shifters I use and how they are each unique to me.

There are three books so far in the series (part of Silhouette Nocturne line). All three books, the heroes have been some type of canine shifter. Unbound and Wild Hunt had hellhound heroes. Guardian’s Keep had a garm hero. Neither of these are dependent on the moon to shift, and as I’ve mentioned here before, their shifting is painless. There is something very important though about what happens when they shift.

Wild Hunt, paranormal romanceIn my world some beings use magic and some are magic. My shifters (which I term forandre) ARE magic. When they shift they release magic. Other beings, like witches (heroines of Unbound and Guardian’s Keep), can use this magic as it’s released. (Do not ask me where I came up with this because I have zero clue.)

In addition to both being canine (hellhounds are giant dogs, garm are wolves), both of these hero types are alphas. But even though both hellhounds and garm tend to be alphas they have very different motivations for what they do. Hellhounds are hunters. They were originally bred to use in the Wild Hunt and bring back souls for various gods, and witches. Garm are protectors. Think of it as comparing an Australian Shepherd with an Akita. Both may be very alpha–but their basic outlook on life is worlds apart. That’s my garm and hellhound.

In two of the books, Unbound and Wild Hunt, there are also secondary characters who shapeshift. I can’t say a lot about them without going into spoiler territory, but to neither of them is shifting as much a part of them as it is to the hellhounds and garm. For one (Wild Hunt) it is more something to be feared, an aspect of this character’s personality that she is trying to control, but isn’t sure she can. In Unbound, the character is using the magic creating part of shifting to work towards a personal goal.

So, that’s a bit of information on my shapeshifters. As you can probably tell, I see each of them as individual beings with characteristics and motivations that belong just to their group of shifters. It’s very personal to me.

How about you? What personality differences and/or motivations do you see with different types of shifters–what makes them special/unique and not just a being that can shift from one form to another?

7 Comments

  1. Michele Hauf said,

    Congrats on the release, Lori! Love that cover!

    M

  2. *lizzie starr said,

    I’ll be heading out after work today to check the store!🙂

    Whereever your magical/shifting concepts came from, I’m sure I’m not the only one who’s grateful.

    I think the differences in different kinds of shifters comes from their animal. Though alpha males (and females!) have the same basic makeup–or they wouldn’t be alpha, duh–there are differences between an alpha canine and their feline counterpart. Or any species of shifter. It’s these qualities, and the authors that share their tales with us, that make these shifters special and oh, so lovable.

  3. Marcia said,

    Congrats on your release, Lori!

    I think their animal plays a huge part in their personality. That doesn’t mean I want to see an alpha male scratch for fleas. Wolves are very loyal to their pack, so I want to see that same loyalty when dealing with their loved ones, human or otherwise.

  4. scooper said,

    I love the alpha mentality. The whole protect the weaker and take no crap. It doesn’t mean I’d like one in reality (well I don’t want a wimp either) but for my fantasy world I like the attitude that goes with a strong, hot alpha male.

  5. scooper said,

    Oh yeah, congrats. (I really didn’t mean for it to sound so after the fact. but here I go again running off at the mouth. LOL

  6. Lori Devoti said,

    Hi, everybody. Sorry to be checking in so late, but I spent the day at WisCon.🙂
    How about more unusual animals/creatures like dragons, etc. ? Anyone have a thought as to what expectations for them would be? Since they aren’t real there is a lot more room for interpretation, don’t you think?
    Lori

  7. Savanna Kougar said,

    Hi Lori, congrats on your release. Dragons, eh? Powerful, eccentric and they like to blow a lot of smoke and fire.

Leave a Reply

